Home » Subject Combination for Sociology in JAMB 2024

Are you aware of the Sociology JAMB Subject Combination? The JAMB Subject Combination for Sociology has several prerequisites. You will be finding out as you read through.

Subject Combination for Sociology in JAMB

The term Sociology was introduced by the French philosopher Auguste Comte in 1839, deriving from the Latin words ‘societies,’ denoting society, and ‘logos,’ meaning study. Sociology encompasses the comprehensive examination of society.

It is the exploration of social life, social change, and the social origins and outcomes of human behavior. Sociologists delve into the structure of groups, organizations, and communities, investigating how individuals engage with them.

Given that all human activities are inherently social, sociology encompasses a broad spectrum, ranging from intimate family dynamics to tumultuous mobs, organized crime to religious cults, differences in race, gender, and social class to shared cultural perspectives, and from the sociology of work to the sociology of sports.


JAMB Subject Combination for Sociology 2024/2025

The following approved correct UTME subjects are necessary to study sociology:

1. Use Of English

2. Economics

3. Government

4. Any Other Social Science Subject.

Requirements to Study Sociology in Nigeria

To commence your studies in Sociology in Nigeria, you need a minimum of five credit passes in your O’level result (from WAEC or NECO), which must include English and Mathematics.

These credits should be obtained in no more than two sittings; although, some institutions may accept results from a single sitting.

By October 31st of the admission year, you must have attained the age of sixteen (16). Additionally, you need to meet the specific Sociology cut-off requirements set by your chosen educational institution. It is essential to achieve excellent results in your JAMB, WAEC, and Post-UTME examinations.

Direct Entry Requirements to Study Sociology In Nigeria

In a maximum of two sittings, candidates need a minimum of 5 credits in the Senior Secondary Certificate Examinations (SSCE/GCE) at the Ordinary Level.

For those with degrees in allied disciplines, a First Class or Second Class Upper classification is required.

Candidates seeking direct entry must acquire a Direct Entry form from the Joint Admission and Matriculation Board (JAMB).

A Merit Pass in the National Certificate of Education (NCE), National Diploma (ND), and other Advanced Level Certificates is necessary.

Other qualifications that are deemed equivalent to those in points (1) and (4) above, and acceptable to the Senate of the preferred university, are also valid. Candidates must additionally satisfy any specific Faculty/Departmental entry criteria, in addition to the minimum admission requirements mentioned.

Joint Universities Preliminary Examinations Board (JUPEB) and Interim Joint Matriculation Board (IJMB) qualifications are also recognized.


Universities in Nigeria Offering Sociology

In Nigerian institutions, Sociology is offered as a double major with Anthropology, or as a single major in the Faculty, School, or College of Arts, leading to a Bachelor of Arts degree.

Universities that offer it as a double course are listed below:

  • Covenant University
  • Evangel University, Ebonyi
  • Federal University-Kashere
  • Federal University-Ndufu
  • Federal University-Otuoke
  • Plateau State University, Bokkos
  • Salem University, Lokoja

Sociology is also offered through the Faculty/School/College of Social and Management Studies, which leads to a Bachelor of Science degree.

The following universities offer B.Sc. (Hons) degrees:

  • Abia State University Uturu (Absu)
  • Achievers University, Owo
  • Adekunle Ajasin University Akungba (Aaua)
  • Ado Bayero University, Kano
  • Afe Babalola University, Ado-Ekiti (Abuad)
  • Ahmadu Bello University, Kaduna (Abu)
  • Al-Qalam University, Katsina
  • Ambrose Ali University, Ekpoma (Aaua)
  • Bauchi State University (Basu)
  • Benue State University, Makurdi(Bsu)
  • Bingham University, Nasarawa
  • Bowen University, Iwo
  • Caritas University, Enugu
  • Chukuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu University, Uli (Coouu)
  • Covenant University, Ota
  • Crawford University, Igbesa
  • Delta State University, Abraka
  • Eastern Palm University, Orlu(Epu)
  • Edo State University, Iyamho
  • Ekiti State University, Ado Ekiti
  • Federal University-Dutsinma
  • Federal University-Gashua
  • Federal University-Gusau
  • Federal University-Kebbi
  • Federal University-Lafia
  • Federal University-Oye Ekiti
  • Federal University-Wukari
  • Fountain University, Osogbo
  • Godfrey Okoye University, Urgwuomu-Nike
  • Gombe State University
  • Gregory University, Uturu
  • Hezekiah University, Umudi, Imo
  • Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida University, Lapai
  • Imo State University
  • Joseph Ayodele Babalola University, Ikeji-Arakeji(Jabu)
  • Kaduna State University, Kaduna
  • Kogi State University, Anyigba
  • Kwara State University, Ilorin
  • Kwararafa University Wukari
  • Lagos State University
  • Landmark University, Omu Aran
  • Leadcity University, Ibadan
  • Legacy University, Okija
  • Madonna University, Okija
  • Nasarawa State University, Keffi.
  • Nigeria Police Academy, Wudil, Kano
  • Nnamdiazikiwe University, Awka
  • Novena University, Ogume
  • Obong University, Abak
  • Olabisionabanjo University
  • Osun State University, Osogbo
  • Paul University, Awka
  • Redeemers University, Ede
  • Rhema University, Aba
  • Ritman University, Ikot-Ekpene
  • Sokoto State University, Sokoto
  • Taraba State University, Jalingo
  • Umaru Musa Yar’dua University, Katsina (Umuky)
  • University Of Abuja
  • University Of Calabar, Calabar
  • University Of Ibadan
  • University Of Ilorin (Ilorin)
  • University Of Jos
  • University Of Lagos(Lagos)
  • University Of Mkar, Gboko
  • University of Port Harcourt
  • Usman Dan Fodio University, Sokoto
  • Western-Delta University, Oghara
  • Yobe State University
  • Special /Waiver Considerations

Below are lists of special/waiver considerations:

1. ABSU and UNICAL: Accept O’level Mathematics passes. In the meanwhile, the University of Ibadan accepts 5 ‘O’ level credits from any Sciences, Arts, or Social/Sciences topic

2. ABUAD: They accept ‘O’ level credit passes in Mathematics, Use of English language, Government and any other 2 Social Science subjects.

3. Adekunle Ajasin University Akungba: They accept ‘O’ level credit passes in Use of English Language, Government/History, Mathematics, and any other 2 Arts or Social/ Science subjects.

4. Ahmadu Bello University requires 5 O’level credit passes in Economics, Geography, English Language, Government/History, Christian Religious Studies/Islamic Studies, and Mathematics.

5. Bauchi State University: They require candidates to possess 5 ‘O’ level credit passes from any Social Science or Arts subject.

6. DELSU and BOWEN UNIVERSITY: They require candidates to have 5 ‘O’ level credit passes to include Mathematics, use of English Language, and any 2 Social Science subjects in addition to any other subject.

7. DELSU, UNIBEN, and Ambrose Ali University: They require an ‘O’ level credit pass in Mathematics.

8. FEDERAL UNIVERSITY-LAFIA: They require candidates to have ‘O’ level credit passes in Mathematics, Use of English Language, Government, and any 2 of Commerce, Economics, History, Christian Religious Studies, or Islamic Studies.

9. JABU: They require candidates to have at least ‘An O’ level pass in Mathematics.

10. PLATEAU STATE UNIVERSITY: They require ‘o’ level credit passes in English Language and any 3 Social sciences or Arts subjects in addition to at least an ‘O’ level pass in Mathematics.

For additional information, peruse more of our articles or drop a comment below, and we’ll be sure to get back to you at the earliest opportunity.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *