Home » Full List Of All Universities In Abuja

Universities In Abuja: This article provides a complete list of all universities in Abuja as of 2024. The Federal Capital Territory (FCT) of Nigeria, Abuja, is the federation’s administrative center and is situated in the North-Central geopolitical zone in the middle of the nation. 

Universities In Abuja

The Centre of Unity, which houses six universities, does not disappoint in this regard. One of the universities is owned by the Federal Government of Nigeria, while private individuals run the other five.

Abuja is the Federal Capital Territory, so you can expect it to be blessed with many universities. The universities in Abuja are listed below; we will discuss them in more depth as we go.

  • University of Abuja, Gwagwalada – Federal University
  • Nile University of Nigeria, Jabi, Abuja – Private University
  • Baze University, Abuja – Private University
  • Veritas University, Bwari, Abuja – Private University
  • African University of Science And Technology, Galadima, Abuja – Private University
  • Philomath University, Kuje, Abuja – Private University.

Full List Of All Universities In Abuja (Fct) 2024

The list of all universities in Abuja, the Federal Capital Territory, for 2024 is as follows:

University Of Abuja, Gwagwalada

The University of Abuja (UNIABUJA) was founded on January 1st, 1988, as a dual-mode institution with the authority to administer academic programs for both traditional and distance learning.

It was the first university in the nation to start with such a dual purpose. The university has nine faculties, including a School of Postgraduate Studies, a Centre for Distance Learning, an Institute of Education, a College of Health Sciences, and a School of Remedial Studies. The University of Abuja in Nigeria has 3,362 staff members and 55,364 students.


Nile University Of Nigeria, Jabi, Abuja

The private university of Nile University of Nigeria is in Abuja, Nigeria’s Federal Capital Territory. Currently, it is Nigeria’s most costly university.

The university was founded in 2009 to serve the rising number of secondary school dropouts nationwide with top-notch postsecondary education. Nile University was founded with 93 students and three faculties (Arts & Social Sciences, Engineering, and Natural & Applied Sciences).

Baze University, Abuja

Baze University is a unique, quality-based educational institution that positively influences the nation’s history through its service and graduates’ production.

While its mission is to be a distinctive quality-based educational institution, it makes a difference in the country’s history through the positive impact of its services and graduate output.

Its vision is to establish and maintain a more suitable academic environment, syncing world-class human capital and the best technology for creating and imparting knowledge to develop and modernize Nigerian society.

Veritas University, Bwari, Abuja

The Catholic Bishops Conference of Nigeria passed a resolution during its conference in Abuja in March 2002 that established Veritas University.

The Bishops’ search for a university that would offer top-notch tertiary education in accordance with the honorable tradition of the Catholic Church served as the inspiration for the proposal.

For the social and economic benefit of the graduates and the Nigerian community, the university heavily emphasizes strong moral principles, independence, and the development of the students’ entrepreneurial skills.

African University Of Science And Technology (Aust), Galadima, Abuja

In Abuja, Nigeria, there is a private, coeducational, pan-African research university called the African University of Science and Technology (AUST).

With a concentration on science, engineering, technology, and even policy applications, AUST’s aim is to expand knowledge through applied research and structured training.

Their comprehensive approach to teaching and research includes other scholarly fields that will best assist the African continent in the twenty-first century.


Philomath University, Kuje, Abuja

The Greek words philos, which means “love,” and math, which means “learning,” combine to form the word philomath. “Love for learning” is the meaning of the Greek word philomath.

Philomath University is therefore created to inspire students with a strong desire to learn while achieving excellence and top-tier performance.

The Philomath University was founded on a love for excellent education and an unquenchable ambition to advance Africa, especially Nigeria, and the world through science, technology, and industry.

Philomath University is starting its academic program with two faculties: the Faculty of Management and Social Sciences and the Faculty of law.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *