Home » Full List of Accredited Universities in Edo State

Universities in Edo State: This page will detail the whole list of universities currently operating in Edo State as of 2024. Nigeria’s South-South geopolitical zone includes the State of Edo.

Universities in Edo State

It is the birthplace of the historic Benin Kingdom, which, at the height of its influence, dominated all of West Africa. 

The capital of the State, Benin City, is Nigeria’s fourth-largest city and the hub of the nation’s rubber industry. 

With Kogi State to the northeast, Anambra State to the east, Delta State to the southeast, and Ondo State to the west, Edo State was created in 1991 from the former Bendel State.

List of Universities in Edo State

The full list of universities in Edo State is provided below. There are eight institutions in Edo State. Five private institutions, two state universities, and one federal university make up the total. These institutions rank among the best in the nation. As follows:


Federal University

The federal university in Edo State is listed below:

1. University of Benin

In the Nigerian city of Benin, which is part of the Edo state, there is a public research institution called the institution of Benin (UNIBEN).

It was made by them in 1970. It is a single entity that the Federal Government of Nigeria controls. The school now has fifteen faculties spread across two sites.

The John Harris Library is another. This, however, acts as the main library. Buildings at UNIBEN are not located close to one another and are developed intermittently.

The University of Benin Teaching Hospital (UBTH), a sizable hospital with all medical specialties, is the teaching hospital for UNIBEN.

Additionally, it provides a wide range of services, including laundry, catering, SERVICOM, Medical Records, Nurses’ and Doctors’ House, and many others.

State Universities

The list of state universities in Edo State is provided below:

1. Ambrose Alli University, Ekpoma

In Nigeria’s Edo State, Ambrose Alli institution (AAU) is a public institution. Ambrose Folorunsho Alli, the governor of Bendel State (now Edo and Delta State), formed it in 1981.

AAU was given approval and recognition by the National Universities Commission. Its previous names, however, were Bendel State University and Edo State University.

But ultimately changed its name to reflect professor Ambrose Folorunsho Alli’s (NUC) respect.

The library at Ambrose Alli University is where the school keeps its informational assets.

2. Edo State University Uzairue

Established in 2016, Edo State University, Uzairue (EDSU) is a state-owned postsecondary institution. It is located in Iyamho, a town in Etsako West local government area of Edo State.

On March 23, 2016, the National Universities Commission designated the institution as Nigeria’s 41st state university. The Edo State University provides research possibilities in addition to undergraduate, graduate, and doctorate degrees.

Private Universities

The list of private colleges in the state of Edo is provided below:

1. Benson Idahosa University, Benin City

Benson Idahosa institution (BIU) is a private Christian institution located in Benin City, Edo State, Nigeria. Pastor from Benin City, Nigeria, Archbishop Benson Idahosa, who practices Pentecostalism and Charism.

His evangelical beliefs were commemorated by the renaming of BIU (formerly known as Christian Faith University).

He served as the school’s first president. Bishop of CGMi Faith Arena is Rt. Rev. (Dr.) Faith, who is also the son of Benson Idahosa and the current president of Benson Idahosa University.

2. Igbinedion University Okada

Nigerian private institution Igbinedion institution, Okada (IUO) was founded in 1999. The institution may be found at Okada, the administrative center of the Ovia North-East Local Government Area in the state of Edo.

The university was established by Sir Gabriel Osawaru Igbinedion CFR, a well-known Benin Chief and businessman.

The University’s graduate and undergraduate programs have received accreditation from the National Universities Commission (NUC) and other relevant professional bodies.

3. Samuel Adegboyega University, Ogwa.

In Ogwa, Edo State, there is a Nigerian institution called Samuel Adegboyega institution (SAU). It was started by the Apostolic Church Nigeria, LAWNA (Lagos, Western and Northern Areas) Territory, which has its main office in Olorunda-Ketu, Lagos.

The first Nigerian Superintendent of the Church, Pastor Samuel Gbadebo Adegboyega, is honored by having the university bear his name.

The Federal Government of Nigeria granted the institution its license on Monday, March 7, 2011, elevating it to the position of 45th private university and 117th overall in the Nigerian university system. The university’s first academic year began in 2011/2012.


4. Wellspring University, Evbuobanosa – Edo State

In November 2009, the Nigerian government issued a license to Wellspring University, a private institution.

It is located in the state of Edo, in the Nigerian city of Benin. The institution was established in 1983 by The Management Science Centre, a professional training and educational consulting firm.

In order to offer a well-rounded education that would enable students to learn helpful academic knowledge and valuable life skills while retaining healthy morality, the institution was based on strong Christian ideals and values.

Currently, they provide postgraduate programs through the university’s postgraduate school while providing undergraduate programs through the university’s four colleges.

5. Mudiame University, Irrua, Edo State

Professor Sunny Eromosele Eboh, CEO of Mudiame International Limited and Mudiame Welding Institute, established the university.

The Federal Executive Council permitted starting academic programs at Mudiame University in 2021.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *